Luke Bryan, "I Don’t Want This Night to End"

Since his debut back in 2007, Luke Bryan has blossomed into one of country music’s brightest stars thanks to hits like “Do I,” “Rain Is A Good Thing,” and “Country Girl (Shake It For Me).” So it’s no surprise to his newest single, “I Don’t Want This Night to End,” quickly climbing up Billboard‘s Hot Country Songs chart. But, does the song live up to Bryan’s potential?

I’ve always enjoyed the fact that Luke has been able to keep his sound relatively mainstream yet distinctly country. However, that sound is no where to be found on his latest album Tailgates and Tanlines as well as the new single, “I Don’t Want This Night to End.”

The song has a pop production that resembles something The Fray would use in one of their songs. There’s hardly any country sounds other than a slight fiddle that can be heard throughout, but keyboards, electric guitars, and drums pretty much mask it to create a pop melody that is extremely catchy. I’m a little disappointed that Luke and producer Jeff Stevens chose to go down the pop road rather than stick to Bryan’s signature sound, especially since it’s helped him become a radio favorite.

Written by Bryan, Dallas Davidson, Rhett Akins, and Ben Hayslip, the song tells the story of a guy who meets a girl and then proceeds to spend the entire night with her while wishing that the night’s end wasn’t inevitable. I’m really not sure what the lyrics in the verses are, but I sure as heck can’t stop singing the lines of the chorus. “You got your hands up, you’re rocking in my truck, you got the radio on, you’re singing every song, I’m set on cruise control, I’m slowly losing hold of everything I’ve got, you’re looking so damn hot…I don’t want this night to end.” The incredibly catchy hook and chorus is one of the few bright spots in this less-than-stellar single, but that’s what will make this another smash hit for Bryan. Not to mention, Bryan delivers a fantastic vocal performance that eclipses the mediocre production and lyrics.

Luke Bryan has made a career for himself by releasing songs that stick to who he is as an artist. Do I think this song follows that mold? Not necessarily, but I appreciate the idea that he’s trying out different sounds and styles of music. I just hope in the future he returns to the sounds we heard on his first two albums rather than the new pop-leaning productions found on this song.

1 Comment

Filed under Single Reviews

One response to “Luke Bryan, "I Don’t Want This Night to End"

  1. I wish I liked it more. I like HIM a lot, especially liked "Rain Is A Good Thing" and "Someone Else Calling You Baby," because both were catchy country rockers that sounded unique on the radio and had something very interesting to say. Then there was "Shake It For Me," which shook my opinion of him rather badly. This song here, rather than being either delightfully original or cliche-ridden gibberish ("shake it for the catfish," Luke???) is just a little "off" somehow. Yep, that chorus is good. But that's not enough. It's missing something. Maybe the melody isn't striking enough, or the fact that it's wordy but not memorable in the verses (iow, hard to sing along). Whatever it is, it just hasn't grabbed me yet. I hope the next single makes me recall last year's Luke Bryan, the one I thought was highly original but firmly in the genre. This one is not in the same category, to me.

Leave a Reply

